European Film Festival Paris
from 17 to 31 March 2022
European Film Festival Paris
from 17 to 31 March 2022

Antologion / Антологион

by Aleksandr Balagura

(Experimental, Ukraine, 1996, 77’, BW, OV)

Antologion

ANTOLOGION – from the ancient Greek «harvest, crown of flowers; harvest of poetic passages»… Antologion is a film of assemblage, – an attempt to imagine an Ukrainian film with its own plot, aesthetics, intonation, an attempt to create an organic interlacement, a cine- rhapsody, founded on fragments of classical films produced in Ukraine during the Soviet period. This film is a homage to the centennial of the cinema.


“The relation between poetry and memory are explored through the archival medium. The interplay between memory and its reconstruction, references to the fragility and durability of archival images, the regional identification of Ukrainian cinema and poetic experimentation, all characterize Balgura’s film. Although taken from different parts of film, the poetic images all appear to be questioning the same myth, “the myth of lost paradise”, and the need to sacrifice it. Perhaps this sacrifice of a lost paradise, the paradise portrayed in the mythical images of Ukrainian cinema, away from totalitarianism, is implemented by the making of this film. The film sacrifices and resurrects images for the spectator to reconstruct Ukrainian identity and its version of national memory.” Anna Doyle, « Poetry and Cinematic Memory », eefb.org

Aleksandr Balagura
Aleksandr Balagura

Aleksandr Balagura was born in 1960 in Luboml (USSR, actual Ukraine). He graduated in History from Kiev State University. From 1989 to 1998 he worked as film director at Ukrainian Documentary Film Studios. His first short film To Our Brothers and Sisters was awarded the Documentary prize at Festival dei Popoli in Florence in 1990. In 1991, he presented in Florence his second short film Widow-Street (out of competition). He has shot more than 20 documentaries among which Antologion (1996), Wings of a Butterfly (2008), selected in Festival Cinéma du réel and Torino IFF, Life Span of an Object in Frame (2012) – Jury’s Special mention at FID Marseille. His film Story for an Empty Theatre (2016), made together with avec Cesare Bedogné, was selected in more than 30 international festivals and received numerous awards as Best Documentary and Best Experimental film. He has been living and working in Genoa, Italy, since 1998.

Other movies: Salon expérimental

Festival de films européens de Paris
Du 17 au 31 mars 2022
Festival de films européens de Paris
Du 17 au 31 mars 2022

Antologion / Антологион

de Aleksandr Balagura

(Expérimental, Ukraine, 1996, 77’, NB, VO)

Antologion

ANTOLOGION – en grec ancien : « couronne de fleurs, récolte de passages poétiques… » Antologion est un film d’assemblage – une tentative d’imagination d’un film unique avec sa propre trame, sa propre esthétique, sa propre intonation, une tentative de créer un entrelacement organique unique, un ciné-rhapsodie, en le basant sur des fragments de films classiques produits en Ukraine pendant la période soviétique. Ce film est un hommage au centenaire du cinématographe.


« La relation entre poésie et mémoire est explorée par le biais des archives. L’interaction entre la mémoire et sa reconstruction, les références à la fragilité et à la durabilité des images d’archives, l’identification régionale du cinéma ukrainien et l’expérimentation poétique, tout cela caractérise le film de Balagura. Les images poétiques semblent toutes interroger le même mythe, « le mythe du paradis perdu », et la nécessité de le sacrifier. Ce sacrifice d’un paradis perdu, le paradis dépeint dans les images mythiques du cinéma ukrainien, loin du totalitarisme, est peut-être mis en œuvre par la réalisation de ce film. Le film sacrifie et ressuscite des images pour que le spectateur reconstruise l’identité ukrainienne et sa propre version de la mémoire nationale. » Anna Doyle, « Poetry and Cinematic Memory », eefb.org

Aleksandr Balagura
Aleksandr Balagura

Aleksandr Balagura est né en 1960 à Luboml (URSS, actuellement en Ukraine). Il est diplômé de la faculté d’histoire de l’université d’État de Kiev. De 1989 à 1998, il travaille en tant que réalisateur au Studio de Films Documentaires Ukrainiens. Sa première œuvre indépendante, To Our Brothers and Sisters, reçoit le prix du meilleur documentaire au Festival dei Popoli de Florence en 1990. En 1991, il revient à Florence pour présenter son court-métrage Widow-Street (hors compétition). Il a réalisé plus de 20 documentaires dont Antologion (1996), Wings of a Butterfly (2008), sélectionné au Cinéma du réel et Torino IFF, Life Span of an Object in Frame (2012) – Mention spéciale du jury au FID Marseille. Son film Story for an Empty Theatre (2016) réalisé avec Cesare Bedogné a été sélectionné dans plus de 30 festivals internationaux et a reçu de nombreux prix, dont le Prix du meilleur film expérimental et le meilleur documentaire. Depuis 1998, il vit et travaille à Gênes en Italie.

Autres films : Salon expérimental