European Film Festival Paris
from 17 to 31 March 2022
European Film Festival Paris
from 17 to 31 March 2022

Persona

by Ingmar Bergman

(Fiction, Sweden, 1966, 80’, BW, Fr ST) with Liv Ullmann, Bibi Andersson, Margaretha Krook

Persona

Right in the middle of a performance, actress Elisabet Vogler loses her ability to speak. After a stay in a clinic, she settles on Fårö island with her nurse Alma for a time. The two young women become deeply complicit, which encourages Alma to confide in her. But the symbiotic relationship will soon deteriorate…


“I feel today that in Persona I went as far as I could. And that in unfettered freedom I touched upon wordless secrets that only the cinema can reveal.” Ingmar Bergman, Journal cinéphile lyonnais, 2016

”I discovered that every inflexion of my voice, every word in my mouth was a lie. (…) There was only one way to save myself from despair and collapse. Remain silent. Try to reach behind the silence, clarity, or at least gather up the resources I could still dispose of.”  Ingmar Bergman

“One day I said that Persona had saved my life. That was no exaggeration. If I hadn’t found the strength to make that film, I would no doubt have been a finished man.” Ingmar Bergman

Ingmar Bergman
Ingmar Bergman

Ingmar Bergman (1918-2007) was born in Sweden into the family of a pastor. He developed a precocious passion for cinema.  He studied literature and history, but his true passion was for the theater, to which he devoted himself as early as 1938. In 1945, he directed his first feature film, Crisis, adapted from a Danish radio play, thereby launching his very prolific career. He first evoked the mysteries of couples’ lives of couple in 1949 with Thirst and then with Summer with Monika (1953). Smiles of a Summer Night (1955) and The Seventh Seal (1957) brought him international recognition. In 1958, he won the Golden Bear in Berlin for Wild Strawberries. Persona (1966) marked his encounter with Liv Ullmann, whom he would direct in many films, among which Cries and Whispers (1972) or Scenes from a Marriage (1973). He made Fanny and Alexander in 1982. He was distinguished with the “Palme des Palmes” at the 50th edition of the Cannes Film Festival. In 2003, he directed Sarabande, his last feature film, for television.

Other movies: THEMA : Black & White

Festival de films européens de Paris
Du 17 au 31 mars 2022
Festival de films européens de Paris
Du 17 au 31 mars 2022

Persona

de Ingmar Bergman

(Fiction, Suède, 1966, 80’, NB, VOSTF) avec Liv Ullmann, Bibi Andersson, Margaretha Krook

Persona

En plein milieu d’une représentation, la comédienne Elisabet Vogler perd l’usage de la parole. Après un séjour dans une clinique, elle s’installe quelque temps sur l’île de Fårö avec son infirmière, Alma. Les deux jeunes femmes vont alors nouer une grande complicité qui va pousser Alma à se confier. Mais cette relation fusionnelle va très vite se détériorer…


« Je sens aujourd’hui que dans Persona je suis arrivé aussi loin que je peux aller. Et que j’ai touché là, en toute liberté, à des secrets sans mots que seul le cinéma peut découvrir. » Ingmar Bergman, Journal cinéphile lyonnais, 2016

« J’ai découvert que chaque inflexion de ma voix, chaque mot dans ma bouche était un mensonge. (…) Il n’y avait qu’une façon de se soustraire au désespoir et à l’effondrement. Se taire. Chercher à parvenir, derrière le silence, à la clarté, ou du moins, à rassembler les ressources dont je peux encore disposer. » Ingmar Bergman

« J’ai dit un jour que Persona m’avait sauvé la vie. Ce n’était pas une exagération. Si je n’avais pas trouvé la force de faire ce film-là j’aurais sans doute été un homme fini. » Ingmar Bergman

Ingmar Bergman
Ingmar Bergman

Ingmar Bergman (1918-2007) né en Suède dans la famille d’un pasteur, développe une passion très précoce pour le cinéma. Il étudie la littérature, l’histoire et mais sa passion véritable est le théâtre, auquel il se consacre dès 1938. En 1945, il réalise son premier long-métrage Crise, adapté d’une pièce danoise, qui lance une carrière très prolifique. Les mystères du couple sont évoqués à partir de 1949 avec La Soif et ensuite avec Monika (1953). Sourires d’une nuit d’été (1955) et Le Septième Sceau (1957) lui valent la reconnaissance internationale. En 1958, il obtient l’Ours d’or à Berlin pour Les Fraises sauvages. Persona (1966) marque sa rencontre avec Liv Ullmann qu’il dirigera dans de nombreux films parmi lesquels Cris et chuchotements (1972) ou Scènes de la vie conjugale (1973). Il réalise Fanny et Alexandre en 1982. La « Palme des Palmes » lui est discerné pour la 50ème édition du festival de Cannes. En 2003, il réalise pour la télévision Sarabande, son dernier long-métrage.

Autres films : THEMA : Noir et Blanc