European Film Festival Paris
from 17 to 31 March 2022
European Film Festival Paris
from 17 to 31 March 2022

Le Silence / Tystnaden

by Ingmar Bergman

(Fiction, Sweden, 1963, 96’, BW, Fr ST) with Ingrid Thulin, Gunnel Lindblom, Jörgen Lindström

Le Silence

Anna, Ester and Joan stop at an old-fashion luxury hotel while traveling in a desolate and war-torn country whose language they cannot speak. Solitude unveils their emotional problems.


“In The Silence, Sven Nykvist and I decided to be perfectly shameless and repress nothing. And I never tire of seeing the cinematographic voluptuousness in this film again. It was absolute fun shooting The Silence.” Ingmar Bergman

“There was no contrast in this film. That’s really what we wanted, to transmit the idea of heat.” Sven Nykvist

”When trying to retrace the origin of The Silence, Bergman evoked a dream and a childhood memory: “I’m in a gigantic foreign town. On the way to a zone where something is forbidden (…) When I was ten, I started to wander (…) At first The Silence was called Timoka (…) I had seen that word in an Estonian book without knowing what it meant. And it turned out that was a name that fit a foreign city very well. In fact, it means “Meant for the hangman.”  Ingmar Bergman

“The young sister’s love scene with the barman (Birger Malmsten, aged, unrecognizable) and Ingrid Thulin’s masturbation were a scandal at the time. But their supposed eroticism conveys a terror that annihilates any sensuality.”  N.T.Bihn, Ingmar Bergman, le magicien du Nord

Ingmar Bergman
Ingmar Bergman

Ingmar Bergman (1918-2007) was born in Sweden into the family of a pastor. He developed a precocious passion for cinema.  He studied literature and history, but his true passion was for the theater, to which he devoted himself as early as 1938. In 1945, he directed his first feature film, Crisis, adapted from a Danish radio play, thereby launching his very prolific career. He first evoked the mysteries of couples’ lives of couple in 1949 with Thirst and then with Summer with Monika (1953). Smiles of a Summer Night (1955) and The Seventh Seal (1957) brought him international recognition. In 1958, he won the Golden Bear in Berlin for Wild Strawberries. Persona (1966) marked his encounter with Liv Ullmann, whom he would direct in many films, among which Cries and Whispers (1972) or Scenes from a Marriage (1973). He made Fanny and Alexander in 1982. He was distinguished with the “Palme des Palmes” at the 50th edition of the Cannes Film Festival. In 2003, he directed Sarabande, his last feature film, for television.

Other movies: THEMA : Black & White

Festival de films européens de Paris
Du 17 au 31 mars 2022
Festival de films européens de Paris
Du 17 au 31 mars 2022

Le Silence / Tystnaden

de Ingmar Bergman

(Fiction, Suède, 1963, 96’, NB, VOSTF) avec Ingrid Thulin, Gunnel Lindblom, Jörgen Lindström

Le Silence

Anna, Ester et Joan font halte dans un hôtel de luxe désuet et désert au cours d’un voyage, dans un pays désolé et en guerre dont ils ne comprennent pas la langue. La solitude dévoile leurs problèmes affectifs.


« Dans Le Silence, Sven Nykvist et moi avions décidé d’être parfaitement impudiques et de ne rien refouler. Et, il y a dans ce film, une volupté cinématographique que je revis encore avec joie. Ce fut tout simplement follement amusant de tourner Le Silence. » Ingmar Bergman

« Il y avait plus de contraste dans ce film. C’est vraiment ce que nous voulions faire pour transmettre notamment l’idée de chaleur. »  Sven Nykvist

« En tentant de retracer l’origine du Silence, Bergman évoque un rêve et un souvenir d’enfance : « Je suis dans une ville étrangère gigantesque. En route vers une zone de la ville où se trouve ce qui est interdit (…) Quand j’ai eu dix ans j’ai commencé à vagabonder (…) A l’origine Le Silence s’appelait Timoka (…) J’avais vu ce mot sur un livre estonien sans savoir ce qu’il signifiait. Et je trouvais que c’était un nom qui convenait bien pour une ville étrangère. Le mot, en fait, signifie : « Voué au bourreau. » Ingmar Bergman

« La scène d’amour de la jeune sœur avec le barman (Birger Malmsten, vieilli, méconnaissable) et celle de la masturbation d’Ingrid Thulin firent scandale à l’époque. Pourtant leur prétendu érotisme véhicule une terreur qui annihile la sensualité. » N.T.Bihn, Ingmar Bergman, le magicien du Nord

Ingmar Bergman
Ingmar Bergman

Ingmar Bergman (1918-2007) né en Suède dans la famille d’un pasteur, développe une passion très précoce pour le cinéma. Il étudie la littérature, l’histoire et mais sa passion véritable est le théâtre, auquel il se consacre dès 1938. En 1945, il réalise son premier long-métrage Crise, adapté d’une pièce danoise, qui lance une carrière très prolifique. Les mystères du couple sont évoqués à partir de 1949 avec La Soif et ensuite avec Monika (1953). Sourires d’une nuit d’été (1955) et Le Septième Sceau (1957) lui valent la reconnaissance internationale. En 1958, il obtient l’Ours d’or à Berlin pour Les Fraises sauvages. Persona (1966) marque sa rencontre avec Liv Ullmann qu’il dirigera dans de nombreux films parmi lesquels Cris et chuchotements (1972) ou Scènes de la vie conjugale (1973). Il réalise Fanny et Alexandre en 1982. La « Palme des Palmes » lui est discerné pour la 50ème édition du festival de Cannes. En 2003, il réalise pour la télévision Sarabande, son dernier long-métrage.

Autres films : THEMA : Noir et Blanc