European Film Festival Paris
from 17 to 31 March 2022
European Film Festival Paris
from 17 to 31 March 2022

Acto dos Feitos da Guiné / Acts of Guinea-Bissau

by Fernando Matos Silva

(Docu-fiction, Portugal, 1980, 86', C, Fr ST) with José Gomes and Virgílio Massinge

Acto dos Feitos da Guiné

The Carnation Revolution is over. Independent Guinea-Bissau is in the grip of violent rifts. Matos reviews the images he shot 10 years ago: the landscapes of water and land, the gestures of the peasant, the traditional dance, the typographers of the printing press, the dancing of the dancers, the streets of Bissau. Acto dos Feitos da Guiné combines a personal and historical perspective. The diary of the young captain filmmaker dialogue with a theatrical, ironic and offbeat gesture, of emblematic figures of imperial history to which respond archival and documentary images, especially directors who have toured with the separatist guerrilha.


«Acto dos Feitos da Guiné is a huge travelling through five hundred years of history, a huge tragedy of pleasure and death. The characters come from the past to intervene in the present. It is also a look at our apocalypse.» Fernando Matos Silva

Acto dos Feitos da Guiné is the first Portuguese feature film on colonization, war and independence.  “It’s a combat film, to tell the truth, that we had to talk about at the time. What colonialism is, the presence of the white man in Africa.”

Fernando Matos Silva
Fernando Matos Silva

Fernando Matos Silva, born in 1940, director, editor and producer, is the author of about twenty feature-length documentaries and fiction. He studied on a scholarship at the London Film School and then, in the 1960s, worked as an assistant to the young filmmakers of Cinema Novo, Paulo Rocha and Fernando Lopes, and became involved in the anti-salazarist struggle. In 1969, like thousands of men of his generation, he was sent to the front, captain in the film service in Guinea-Bissau, then in Angola in 1971. The images he shoots for him, with his Arriflex and the film he brought in secret, will be the starting point of Acto dos Feitos da Guiné, made ten years later. His first feature-length fiction, O Mal Amado (1973) was banned by the regime. In 1974, he was put in the confidence of the coup de force prepared by the captains, his former comrades, and thus became the first to film, with the same team that accompanied him in Guinea, the main events of April 25. He participates in the collective work Caminhos da Liberdade and engages on the front of struggles and cinema, with documentaries that examine the Portuguese society in full transformation. For several years, he directed a television magazine dedicated to cinema. Several of his works deal with contemporary history: Meu Nome É… (1978), A Guerra do Mirandum (1981) and O Meu Avo Republicano (2012).

Other movies: Season France-Portugal 2022

Festival de films européens de Paris
Du 17 au 31 mars 2022
Festival de films européens de Paris
Du 17 au 31 mars 2022

Acto dos Feitos da Guiné / Actes de Guinée-Bissau

de Fernando Matos Silva

(Docu-fiction, Portugal, 1980, 86', C, VOSTF) avec José Gomes et Virgílio Massinge

Acto dos Feitos da Guiné

1980. La révolution des Œillets est terminée. La Guinée-Bissau indépendante est en proie à des déchirements violents. Matos revoit les images tournées 10 ans auparavant :  les paysages d’eau et de terre, les gestes du paysan, la danse traditionnelle, les typographes de l’imprimerie, les déhanchements des danseurs, les rues de Bissau. Acto dos Feitos da Guiné associe point de vue personnel et perspective historique. Le journal intime du jeune capitaine cinéaste dialogue avec une geste théâtrale, ironique et décalée, de figures emblématiques de l’histoire impériale auxquelles répondent des images d’archives et de documentaires, notamment de réalisateurs qui ont tourné avec la guerrilha indépendantiste.


« Actes de la Guiné-Bissau est un immense travelling à travers cinq cents ans d’histoire, une immense tragédie de plaisir et de mort. Les personnages sortent des portes du passé pour intervenir dans le présent. C’est aussi un regard sur notre apocalypse. » Fernando Matos Silva

Acto dos Feitos da Guiné est le premier long-métrage portugais sur la colonisation, la guerre et l’indépendance.  “C’est un film de combat, pour dire une vérité, dont il fallait parler à l’époque. Ce qu’est le colonialisme, la présence de l’homme blanc en Afrique.”

Fernando Matos Silva
Fernando Matos Silva

Fernando Matos Silva, né en 1940, réalisateur, monteur et producteur, est l’auteur d’une vingtaine de longs-métrages documentaires et de fiction. Il fait ses études, grâce à une bourse, à la London Film School puis, dans les années 60, il est l’assistant des jeunes cinéastes du Cinema Novo, Paulo Rocha et Fernando Lopes, et s’engage dans la lutte anti-salazariste. En 1969, comme des milliers d’hommes de sa génération, il est envoyé sur le front, capitaine dans le service cinématographique en Guinée-Bissau, puis en Angola en 1971. Les images qu’il tourne pour lui, avec son Arriflex et la pellicule qu’il a apportée en cachette, seront le point de départ d’Actos dos Feitos da Guiné, réalisé dix ans plus tard. Son premier long-métrage de fiction, O Mal Amado (1973) est interdit par le régime. En 1974, il est mis dans la confidence du coup de force que préparent les capitaines, ses anciens camarades, et devient ainsi le premier à filmer, avec la même équipe qui l’accompagnait en Guinée, les principaux événements du 25 avril. Il participe à l’œuvre collective Caminhos da Liberdade et s’engage sur le front des luttes et du cinéma, avec des documentaires qui auscultent la société portugaise en pleine transformation. Pendant plusieurs années, il réalise un magazine de télévision dédié au cinéma. Plusieurs de ses œuvres abordent l’histoire contemporaine : Meu Nome É… (1978), A Guerra do Mirandum (1981) et O Meu Avo Republicano (2012).

Autres films : Saison France-Portugal 2022