European Film Festival Paris
from 17 to 31 March 2022
European Film Festival Paris
from 17 to 31 March 2022

To Our Brothers and Sisters / Нашим братьям и сестрам

by Aleksandr Balagura

(Experimental, Ukraine, 1990, 10’, BW, Silent)

To Our Brothers and Sisters

1989, Demianov Laz Valley. A mass grave from the period around the Second World War is opened and reburied. Apart from the historical event itself, the subject of the film is the rare meeting between the living and the dead, face to face, reunited by that event. What can actually a living man do in front of another who is no longer alive? He can cry, he can pray, he can suffer…but what else can he do? At the end he reburies them in the ground. The film shows somehow both the possibility to put the living and the dead in the same frame, and the impossibility for them to interact.


“To Our Brothers and Sisters is not just about national mourning. I was interested in this contrast between the emotional power of the event and the “simplicity” of the ritual’s physical actions, which boil down to a tear.” Aleksandr Balagura, eefb.org

Aleksandr Balagura
Aleksandr Balagura

Aleksandr Balagura was born in 1960 in Luboml (USSR, actual Ukraine). He graduated in History from Kiev State University. From 1989 to 1998 he worked as film director at Ukrainian Documentary Film Studios. His first short film To Our Brothers and Sisters was awarded the Documentary prize at Festival dei Popoli in Florence in 1990. In 1991, he presented in Florence his second short film Widow-Street (out of competition). He has shot more than 20 documentaries among which Antologion (1996), Wings of a Butterfly (2008), selected in Festival Cinéma du réel and Torino IFF, Life Span of an Object in Frame (2012) – Jury’s Special mention at FID Marseille. His film Story for an Empty Theatre (2016), made together with avec Cesare Bedogné, was selected in more than 30 international festivals and received numerous awards as Best Documentary and Best Experimental film. He has been living and working in Genoa, Italy, since 1998.

Other movies: Salon expérimental

Festival de films européens de Paris
Du 17 au 31 mars 2022
Festival de films européens de Paris
Du 17 au 31 mars 2022

To Our Brothers and Sisters / Нашим братьям и сестрам

de Aleksandr Balagura

(Expérimental, Ukraine, 1990, 10’, NB, Muet)

To Our Brothers and Sisters

1989, Vallée de Demianov Laz. Une tombe de la période de la Seconde Guerre Mondiale fut ouverte puis ré-enterrée. Le film traite de la rencontre accidentelle entre les morts et les vivants, face à face, réunis par l’évènement. Que peut faire un homme vivant devant un homme mort ? Il peut pleurer, il peut prier, il peut souffrir… Mais que peut-il faire d’autre ? À la fin il l’enterre à nouveau sous terre. Le film montre comment un être vivant et un mort peuvent être dans un même cadre, et leur impossible interaction.


« To Our Brothers and Sisters ne traite pas seulement du deuil national. Je me suis intéressé à ce contraste entre la puissance émotionnelle de l’événement et la « simplicité » des actions physiques du rite, qui se résument à une larme. » Aleksandr Balagura, eefb.org

Aleksandr Balagura
Aleksandr Balagura

Aleksandr Balagura est né en 1960 à Luboml (URSS, actuellement en Ukraine). Il est diplômé de la faculté d’histoire de l’université d’État de Kiev. De 1989 à 1998, il travaille en tant que réalisateur au Studio de Films Documentaires Ukrainiens. Sa première œuvre indépendante, To Our Brothers and Sisters, reçoit le prix du meilleur documentaire au Festival dei Popoli de Florence en 1990. En 1991, il revient à Florence pour présenter son court-métrage Widow-Street (hors compétition). Il a réalisé plus de 20 documentaires dont Antologion (1996), Wings of a Butterfly (2008), sélectionné au Cinéma du réel et Torino IFF, Life Span of an Object in Frame (2012) – Mention spéciale du jury au FID Marseille. Son film Story for an Empty Theatre (2016) réalisé avec Cesare Bedogné a été sélectionné dans plus de 30 festivals internationaux et a reçu de nombreux prix, dont le Prix du meilleur film expérimental et le meilleur documentaire. Depuis 1998, il vit et travaille à Gênes en Italie.

Autres films : Salon expérimental