European Film Festival Paris
from 17 to 31 March 2022
European Film Festival Paris
from 17 to 31 March 2022

Adieu Venus

by Martin Ziegler

(Fiction, France, 2021, 90’, C, En ST) with Mathilde Mosnier, Julien Cosquéric, Catherine Badet-Corniou

Adieu Venus

Beauty, a virgin Aphrodite-Venus, is to return to the pure origins from which she came. But she is detoured by a Mother who entrusts her with a child who unveils her tragic secret. A protean man opposes Beauty and with the help of Epigone lures her into danger zones.


“The cinema is not a film. It is a place to watch films. A film is an oeuvre. From one film to the next, I have freed myself from the aforementioned cinema.” Martin Ziegler filmfestivals.com

 “As of Martin Ziegler’s first films, I was attracted by their authenticity. This atypical filmmaker evolves from one film to the next, in a dimension that stands out against contemporary cinematic works.” Dobrila Diamantis

Martin Ziegler
Martin Ziegler

Martin Ziegler, born in 1956 in Germany, is a French author-director. At the age of 17, he left Germany to pursue crossover studies: fine arts, literature, and social sciences. For 6 years, he worked on a thesis with Michel Foucault on the notion of bios: biography in Antiquity and hagiography in the Middle Ages. He then published several collections of poetry. While still pursuing his work as an author, Martin Ziegler also directed feature films: The Seven Sisters (2013), With Out (2014), VWaR (2015), Patmos (2016), Joyce (2016), alternating edits and shoots over long periods of time, indeed over several years, which allows him to elaborate a mode of writing close to authoring texts, with progress and rewrites. That is made possible by very precise organisation and reduced crews. Adieu Vénus is his sixth feature film.

Other movies: Competition Prix Sauvage

Festival de films européens de Paris
Du 17 au 31 mars 2022
Festival de films européens de Paris
Du 17 au 31 mars 2022

Adieu Venus

de Martin Ziegler

(Fiction, France, 2021, 90’, C, VOF) avec Mathilde Mosnier, Julien Cosquéric, Catherine Badet-Corniou

Adieu Venus

La Beauté, une Aphrodite-Vénus vierge, devrait retourner à son origine pure, d’où elle est issue. Mais s’étant déviée de sa voie, une Mère lui confie un enfant qui lui révèle son secret tragique. Un homme aux multiples figures, soutenu par Épigone, s’oppose à la Beauté, l’entraînant dans de dangereuses sphères.


“Le cinéma n’est pas un film. C’est le lieu pour regarder un film. Un film est une œuvre. D’un film à l’autre je me suis libéré dudit cinéma. » Martin Ziegler filmfestivals.com 

« Dès les premiers films de Martin Ziegler j’ai été attirée par leur authenticité. Ce cinéaste atypique, d’un film à l’autre, évolue dans une dimension qui tranche avec les œuvres cinématographiques d’aujourd’hui. » Dobrila Diamantis

Martin Ziegler
Martin Ziegler

Martin Ziegler, né en 1956 en Allemagne, est un auteur-réalisateur français. A 17 ans, il quitte l’Allemagne pour poursuivre en France des études croisées : beaux-arts, littérature, sciences humaines. Pendant 6 ans, il travaille sur une thèse avec Michel Foucault sur la notion de bios, la biographie dans l’Antiquité et l’hagiographie du Moyen Age. Par la suite, il publie plusieurs recueils de poésie. Tout en poursuivant son travail d’auteur, Martin Ziegler réalise des longs-métrages : The Seven Sisters (2013), With Out (2014), VWaR (2015), Patmos (2016), Joyce (2016) alternant dès lors montage et tournage sur de longues périodes, voire sur plusieurs années, ce qui lui permet d’élaborer, avec ses avancées et ses reprises, rendues possibles par une organisation très précise et des équipes légères, un mode d’écriture cinématographique des plus proches de celui de l’écriture des textes. Adieu Vénus est son sixième long-métrage.

Autres films : Compétition Prix Sauvage