European Film Festival Paris
from 17 to 31 March 2022
European Film Festival Paris
from 17 to 31 March 2022

Welcome in Vienna – Part 1 : God does not believe in us anymore / Wohin und zurück – Teil 1: An uns glaubt Gott nicht mehr

by Axel Corti

(Fiction, Austria/Switzerland/Germany, 1982, 111’, BW, Fr ST) with Johannes Silberschneider, Barbara Petritsch, Armin Mueller-Stahl

Welcome in Vienna – Part 1 : God does not believe in us anymore

Vienna 1938: after Crystal Night and the murder of his father by the Nazis, Jewish teenager Ferry Tobler flees Austria. He ends up in Prague, where he meets Gandhi, an anti-Nazi German soldier who has escaped from Dachau, and Alea, a young Czech women in charge of caring for refugees. They make their way to Paris, where because they have no papers, they are interned by the French authorities in a holding camp at Saint-Just-en-Chaussée.


“Welcome in Vienna is less a saga in three episodes than the assemblage of three “fragments” taken from a kind of imaginary fresco and whose order is dictated only by which chronology (of the stories, of their filming). In short, the three films could be seen not only separately, but even out of “order”, without spoiling either comprehension or viewing pleasure. The first film describes the urgency and heartbreak of departure, via a new awareness, and then an amorous initiation. Each film has its key location, its microcosm: here it is a French camp where immigrants are held.” N. T. Binh, Positif, mars 1987

In his direction, using black and white and a square format, and at times inserting archive footage, although always in correlation with the story,  Axel Corti finds the right tonality somewhere between modern sleekness and stylization: faithful to the story and its characters, but not averse to the beauty of wandering aimlessly in the snow to the sound of Schubert, or the ellipse of an embrace, segueing from a shot of a man and woman fording a river bare-chested between enemy lines, and a shot of the same two waking up in the morning in the same bed.”  Serge Kaganski, lesinrocks.com, November 2011

Axel Corti
Axel Corti

Born in 1933, Axel Corti began to work for the theater in 1958. Two years later, he was invited by the Vienna Burgtheater to debut as assistant to the greatest Austrian theater directors. In the 1960s he wrote and directed films for the leading Austrian and European production companies. Thanks to his trilogy Welcome in Vienna / Wohin und Zurück he became the best-known Austrian radical and avant-garde director. His film A Woman’s Pale Blue Handwriting (1984) was acclaimed by the critics. In 1968, he launched a weekly radio news and opinion program to which he remained attached until his death in 1993. Corti was and remains one of the most important figures in the Austrian cultural universe: as much for his 30-year radio and television career, as for his work as director, screenwriter, opera director, genius of modern theater, and teacher. For all that, he received many prestigious prizes and awards.

Other movies: Events and Encounters

Festival de films européens de Paris
Du 17 au 31 mars 2022
Festival de films européens de Paris
Du 17 au 31 mars 2022

Welcome in Vienna – Partie 1 : Dieu ne croit plus en nous / Wohin und zurück – Teil 1: An uns glaubt Gott nicht mehr

de Axel Corti

(Fiction, Autriche/Suisse/Allemagne, 1982, 111’, NB, VOSTF) avec Johannes Silberschneider, Barbara Petritsch, Armin Mueller-Stahl

Welcome in Vienna – Partie 1 : Dieu ne croit plus en nous

Vienne 1938 : après la Nuit de Cristal et le meurtre de son père par les nazis, l’adolescent juif Ferry Tobler fuit l’Autriche. Il échoue à Prague, où il fait la connaissance de Gandhi, soldat allemand anti-nazi échappé de Dachau, et d’Alena, une jeune Tchèque chargée d’assister les réfugiés. Ils parviennent jusqu’à Paris où, faute de papiers, ils sont arrêtés et internés par les autorités françaises dans le camp de rétention de Saint-Just-en-Chaussée.


« Welcome in Vienna ressemble moins à une saga en trois épisodes qu’à la réunion de trois « fragments » extraits d’une sorte de fresque imaginaire, et dont seul l’ordre chronologique (de leurs récits, de leur réalisation) dicte la succession. Bref, les trois films peuvent se voir non seulement séparément, mais encore « dans le désordre », sans pour autant gâcher leur compréhension ni la jouissance cinématographique qu’ils procurent. Le premier film décrit l’urgence et le déchirement du départ, par le biais d’une prise de conscience, puis d’une initiation amoureuse. Chaque film a son lieu-clef, son microcosme ; c’est ici un camp français où sont parqués les émigrés. » N. T. Binh, Positif, mars 1987

« Dans sa mise en scène, utilisant le noir et blanc et le format “carré”, insérant parfois des extraits d’images d’archives mais toujours dans la trame du récit, Axel Corti trouve une juste tonalité, entre épure moderne et stylisation, collant au récit et aux personnages mais ne se refusant pas la beauté d’une errance dans la neige aux accents de Schubert, ou encore l’ellipse d’une étreinte en enchaînant le plan d’un homme et une femme traversant une rivière torses presque nus entre les lignes ennemies avec un plan des mêmes se réveillant au matin dans le même lit. » Serge Kaganski, lesinrocks.com, novembre 2011

Axel Corti
Axel Corti

Né en 1933, Axel Corti commence à travailler pour le théâtre en 1958. Deux ans plus tard, sur l’invitation du Burgtheater de Vienne, il débute en tant qu’assistant des plus grands metteurs en scène autrichiens. Dans les années 60, il écrit et réalise des films pour les principales productions autrichiennes et européennes. Grâce à sa trilogie Welcome in Vienna / Wohin und Zurück il devient le réalisateur autrichien radical et avant-gardiste le plus connu à travers l’Europe. Son film Eine blaβblaue Frauenschrift (1984) est acclamé par la critique. En 1968, il lance une émission de radio hebdomadaire d’information et d’opinion à laquelle il se consacrera jusqu’à sa mort en 1993. Corti était et reste l’une des plus importantes figures du paysage culturel autrichien, aussi bien pour ses 30 ans de carrière passées à la radio et à la télévision qu’en tant que réalisateur, scénariste, producteur d’opéra, génie de l’art dramatique moderne et enseignant. À ces titres, il est le lauréat de nombreux prix et récompenses prestigieuses.

Autres films : Rencontres et événements