European Film Festival Paris
from 17 to 31 March 2022
European Film Festival Paris
from 17 to 31 March 2022

The Lasting Formation / Heimatkunde

by Christian Bäucker

(Documentary, Germany, 2021, 88’, C, En ST)

The Lasting Formation

The director returns 25 years later to visit his abandoned childhood school in East Germany. Documents and posters of the period are still there. Interventions by former teachers and students explain and tackle the issue of organized education during the Communist period and its sequels today.


“The film manages to present a differentiated image of the school system in the GDR, juxtaposing its educational mission and indoctrination. This film would not have been possible 10 years ago.” Ina Borrmann, DOK.fest 2021

Christian Bäucker
Christian Bäucker

Christian Bäucker was born in 1980 in Eisenhüttenstadt. He studied experimental media design at the Berlin University of the Arts.  Between 2001 and 2010, he directed commercial and institutional films. In 2018, he founded his production company 5r Filmproduktion. The Lasting Formation is his first documentary.

Other movies: Competition Present

Festival de films européens de Paris
Du 17 au 31 mars 2022
Festival de films européens de Paris
Du 17 au 31 mars 2022

The Lasting Formation / Heimatkunde

de Christian Bäucker

(Documentaire, Allemagne, 2021, 88’, C, VOSTF)

The Lasting Formation

Le réalisateur revisite, 25 ans plus tard, l’école abandonnée de son enfance en Allemagne de l’Est. Des documents et des affiches de l’époque encore présents, des témoignages d’anciens professeurs et d’anciens élèves, illustrent et questionnent l’organisation de l’éducation pendant la période communiste et son empreinte actuelle.


« Le film parvient à présenter une image différenciée du système scolaire de la RDA, juxtaposant mission éducative et endoctrinement. Ce film n’aurait pas été possible il y a 10 ans. » Ina Borrmann, DOK.fest 2021

Christian Bäucker
Christian Bäucker

Christian Bäucker, né en 1980 à Eisenhüttenstadt, fait des études en Experimental media design à l’Université des arts de Berlin. Entre 2001 et 2010, il réalise des films commerciaux et d’entreprise. En 2018, il crée sa société de production 5r Filmproduktion. The Lasting Formation est son premier documentaire.

Autres films : Compétition Present