European Film Festival Paris
from 17 to 31 March 2022
European Film Festival Paris
from 17 to 31 March 2022

Taming the Garden / Motviniereba

by Salomé Jashi

(Documentary, Switzerland/Germany/Georgia, 2022, 92’, C, En ST)

Taming the Garden

Taming the Garden follows uprooted trees destined for the garden of Eden a wealthy man wants to create. With each uprooting, tensions erupt between the workers and Georgian villagers.  The film highlights the ease with which a people’s roots can be destroyed to the benefit of one individual, disconnected from the surrounding nature they appropriate.


“When I film, I try to consider each frame as a scene unto itself. There need to be several elements in it, not just the one thing we’re concentrating on. To do that, I use wide angles and spaced-out cuts. It’s a true pleasure to find a frame capable of telling a whole story all by itself, that contains a kind of development and then wags its tail at the end. For me, using fewer cuts signifies remaining closer to what is authentic, creating a sense of presence, and taking advantage of the pure reality of the moment.” Salomé Jashi, cineuropa.org

“I treat certain frames like paintings, paintings in motion that arouse the sense of a mix of the real and the unreal.”  Salomé Jashi, cineuropa.org 

“Providing a devastating metaphor for a world gone mad, this is a poetic, provocative example of how a hard-hitting documentary tug on the communal conscience can also be wittily artistic.” empireonline.com

Salomé Jashi
Salomé Jashi

Salomé Jashi is a Georgian filmmaker. She graduated from Tbilisi State University and the Caucasus School of Journalism and Media and at first worked for the Georgian television channel Rustavi 2. At the same time, Salomé Jashi created video installations. She then studied documentary filmmaking at London University. Her first film Their Helicopter. Bakhmaro (2011) received an honorable mention at the Leipzig DOK. The Dazzling Light of Sunset (201) received First Prize at the Visions du Réel Festival (Regard Neuf competition). Her latest short subject The Tower received the ADAMI Media Prize.

Other movies: Competition Present

Festival de films européens de Paris
Du 17 au 31 mars 2022
Festival de films européens de Paris
Du 17 au 31 mars 2022

Taming the Garden / Motviniereba

de Salomé Jashi

(Documentaire, Suisse/Allemagne/Géorgie, 2022, 92’, C, VOSTF)

Taming the Garden

Taming the Garden suit le périple des arbres déracinés destinés au jardin d’éden que souhaite créer un homme très fortuné. A chaque déracinement, des tensions éclatent entre les travailleurs et les villageois géorgiens. Le film met en relief la facilité avec laquelle les racines d’un peuple peuvent être détruites au profit d’individus, déconnectés de la nature environnante, qu’ils s’approprient.


« Lorsque je filme, j’essaye de considérer chaque plan comme une scène à part entière. Il faut qu’il y ait plusieurs éléments dedans, pas juste une chose sur laquelle on se concentre. Pour ce faire, j’utilise des angles larges et des coupes espacées. C’est un vrai plaisir de cueillir un plan capable à lui seul de raconter toute une histoire, qui contient une forme de développement et remue la queue à la fin. Pour moi, utiliser moins de coupes signifie rester plus proche de l’authentique, créer un sentiment de présence, et profiter de la pure réalité du moment. » Salomé Jashi, cineuropa.org

“Je traite certains plans comme des tableaux, des peintures en mouvement, qui évoquent le sentiment d’un mélange de réel et d’irréel.”  Salomé Jashi, cineuropa.org 

“Providing a devastating metaphor for a world gone mad, this is a poetic, provocative example of how a hard-hitting documentary tug on the communal conscience can also be wittily artistic.” empireonline.com

Salomé Jashi
Salomé Jashi

Salomé Jashi est une cinéaste géorgienne. Diplômée de l’université d’État de Tbilissi et de l’Ecole caucasienne de journalisme et des médias, elle travaille d’abord pour la chaîne de télévision géorgienne Rustavi 2. En parallèle, Salomé Jashi crée des installations vidéo. Elle se forme ensuite en cinéma documentaire à l’université de Londres. Son premier film Their Helicopter. Bakhmaro (2011) a reçu une mention honorable au DOK leipzig. The Dazzling Light of Sunset réalisé en 2016 a reçu le premier prix au festival Visions du Réel (compétition Regard Neuf). Son dernier court-métrage The Tower a reçu le Prix ADAMI Media.

Autres films : Compétition Present