European Film Festival Paris
from 17 to 31 March 2022
European Film Festival Paris
from 17 to 31 March 2022

Sapovnela / საპოვნელა

by Otar Iosseliani

(Documentary, USSR/Georgia, 1959, 17’, C, Fr ST)

Sapovnela

The filmmaker follows the old gardener who, like a Demiurge, arranges nature to make it even more beautiful, creating beautiful floral compositions. The only color film made by Iosseliani before 1983.


“… The young director has fun making his many flowers dance and sing to the rhythm of the spellbinding music by means of skillful work on the montage. Exposed to the winds of nature or the dim light of the greenhouse, the flowers seem to be the choristers in an immortal pastoral symphony, almost born from beyond the grave. (…) Sapovnela is not a documentary, but a story about eternal nature, out of time. The filmmaker also becomes a painter and poet, he composes his own “Invitation au voyage”. Julien Morvan www.perestroikino.fr

Otar Iosseliani
Otar Iosseliani

Born in 1934 in Tbilisi, Georgia, Otar Iosseliani studied music brilliantly before starting scientific studies in Moscow, which he abandoned to join the National Institute of Cinematography in Moscow. His first short films Aquarelle (1958) and April (1961) were blacklisted in the USSR. His first feature-length film, Falling Leaves (1966), traces the daily life of a peasant community in a very impressionist style. His art of contemplative distance, similar to Jacques Tati’s, his acknowledged master, asserted itself with Once Upon A Time There Was A Singing Blackbird (1971) and Pastorale (1976). His work totters between fiction and documentary. His attraction to purely visual language brought him closer to the authors of the Nouvelle Vague Française: François Truffaut, Claude Chabrol, Jean-Luc Godard. Despite their creator’s international reputation, these films were banned from export for many years. Based in France since 1982, Iosseliani directed his first French film Favorites of the Moon in 1984, which won the Special Jury Prize at the Venice Mostra. He then shot And Then There Was Light (1989), Chasing Butterflies (1991), Brigands, Chapter VII (1995), Monday Morning (2001) – Silver Bear for Best Director at the Berlin International Film Festival, Gardens in Autumn (2005). Outside his country, Otar Iosseliani manages to keep the humanist vision nuanced with humor and irony that made the success of his Georgian films. His latest film Chantrapas (2009) is an ode to freedom. It follows the story of a young director (alter ego of the author) who makes no compromise with censorship, whether ideological or economic, in the name of freedom of creative thought. He has also directed several documentaries for television: Euskadi (1982), A Little Monastery in Tuscany (1988) and Georgia, Alone, a documentary triptych of more than four hours about his country of origin. www.cineressources.net

Other movies: Tributes

Festival de films européens de Paris
Du 17 au 31 mars 2022
Festival de films européens de Paris
Du 17 au 31 mars 2022

Sapovnela / საპოვნელა

de Otar Iosseliani

(Documentaire, URSS/Géorgie, 1959, 17’, C, VOSTF)

Sapovnela

Le cinéaste suit le vieux jardinier qui, tel un démiurge, ordonne la nature pour la rendre encore plus belle, et crée des magnifiques compositions florales. Le seul film en couleur réalisé par Iosseliani avant 1983.


« …Le jeune réalisateur s’amuse à faire danser et chanter sa multitude de fleurs au rythme de la musique, envoûtante, par un habile travail sur le montage. Exposées au vent de la nature ou de la faible luminosité de la serre, les fleurs semblent être les choristes d’une symphonie pastorale immortelle, presque née d’outre-tombe. (…) Sapovnela n’est pas un documentaire, mais un récit sur la nature perpétuelle, une œuvre hors du temps. Le cinéaste se fait aussi peintre et poète, il compose sa propre Invitation au voyage. » Julien Morvan, www.perestroikino.fr

Otar Iosseliani
Otar Iosseliani

Né en 1934, à Tbilissi, Géorgie, Otar Iosseliani fait de brillantes études de musique avant d’entamer des études scientifiques à Moscou, qu’il abandonne pour intégrer l’institut national de la cinématographie de Moscou. Ses premiers courts métrages Aquarelle (1958) et Avril (1961) sont interdits de diffusion en URSS. Son premier long-métrage La chute des feuilles (1966) retrace la vie quotidienne d’une communauté paysanne dans un style très impressionniste. Son art de distance contemplative dans un style proche de celui de Jacques Tati, son maître revendiqué s’affirme avec Il était une fois un merle chanteur (1971) et Pastorale (1976). Son œuvre oscille entre la fiction et le documentaire. Son attirance vers le langage purement visuel le rapproche des auteurs de la Nouvelle vague française : François Truffaut, Claude Chabrol, Jean-Luc Godard. Malgré la renommée internationale de leur créateur, ces films seront interdits à l’exportation pendant de nombreuses années. Installé en France depuis 1982, Iosseliani réalise son premier film français Les favoris de la lune en 1984 qui obtient le Grand Prix spécial du Jury à la Mostra de Venise. Il signe ensuite Et la lumière fut (1989), La chasse aux papillons (1991), Brigands, chapitre VII (1995), Lundi matin (2001) – Prix du Meilleur Réalisateur au Festival de Berlin, Jardins en automne (2005). Hors de son pays, Otar Iosseliani parvient à garder la vision humaniste nuancée d’humour et d’ironie qui a fait le succès de ses films géorgiens. Son dernier film en date est Chantrapas (2009) est une ode à la liberté. Il suit l’histoire d’un jeune réalisateur (alter ego de l’auteur) qui ne fait aucun compromis avec la censure, qu’elle soit idéologique ou économique, au nom de la liberté de la pensée créatrice. Il a également réalisé plusieurs documentaires pour la télévision : Euskadi (1982), Un petit monastère en Toscane (1988) et Seule Géorgie, un triptyque documentaire de plus de quatre heures sur son pays d’origine. www.cineressources.net

Autres films : Hommage aux maîtres