European Film Festival Paris
from 17 to 31 March 2022
European Film Festival Paris
from 17 to 31 March 2022

La Chasse aux papillons

by Otar Iosseliani

(Fiction, France/Germany/Italy, 1991, 115’, C, Fr ST) with Narda Blanchet, Pierrette Pompon-Bailhache, Alexandre Tcherkassoff, Thamar Tarassachvili

La Chasse aux papillons

Châtelaine Marie-Agnès de Bayonnette lives in her family home with her cousin Solange. The lives of the two old ladies are governed by the traditional codes of aristocracy. When Marie-Agnès died, the heirs from Russia had to fight over the estate with a Japanese company that wanted to buy the property.

Pasinetti Prize at the Venice Film Festival 1992.


“This is simply the story of the intrusion of “advanced” and progressive strangers into indigenous people who live in a harmonious and closed world, according to outdated rules. It’s a phenomenon that happens all over the world… so I could have made this film anywhere, including Georgia. But I couldn’t have constructed a pure parable. I would have had to consider elements that were foreign to this tragedy, the struggle of a people against the heritage of Bolshevism. When you want to tell a fable, you must be like a chemist who works “in a vacuum,” in a laboratory, with unadulterated elements: a weakened lion is kicked by a donkey, a wise fox flatters a narcissistic crow, a stupid ant gives lessons to a lazy, poetic grasshopper…” Otar Iosseliani, Cahiers du cinéma, no. 461, November 1992

Otar Iosseliani
Otar Iosseliani

Born in 1934 in Tbilisi, Georgia, Otar Iosseliani studied music brilliantly before starting scientific studies in Moscow, which he abandoned to join the National Institute of Cinematography in Moscow. His first short films Aquarelle (1958) and April (1961) were blacklisted in the USSR. His first feature-length film, Falling Leaves (1966), traces the daily life of a peasant community in a very impressionist style. His art of contemplative distance, similar to Jacques Tati’s, his acknowledged master, asserted itself with Once Upon A Time There Was A Singing Blackbird (1971) and Pastorale (1976). His work totters between fiction and documentary. His attraction to purely visual language brought him closer to the authors of the Nouvelle Vague Française: François Truffaut, Claude Chabrol, Jean-Luc Godard. Despite their creator’s international reputation, these films were banned from export for many years. Based in France since 1982, Iosseliani directed his first French film Favorites of the Moon in 1984, which won the Special Jury Prize at the Venice Mostra. He then shot And Then There Was Light (1989), Chasing Butterflies (1991), Brigands, Chapter VII (1995), Monday Morning (2001) – Silver Bear for Best Director at the Berlin International Film Festival, Gardens in Autumn (2005). Outside his country, Otar Iosseliani manages to keep the humanist vision nuanced with humor and irony that made the success of his Georgian films. His latest film Chantrapas (2009) is an ode to freedom. It follows the story of a young director (alter ego of the author) who makes no compromise with censorship, whether ideological or economic, in the name of freedom of creative thought. He has also directed several documentaries for television: Euskadi (1982), A Little Monastery in Tuscany (1988) and Georgia, Alone, a documentary triptych of more than four hours about his country of origin. www.cineressources.net

Other movies: Tributes

Festival de films européens de Paris
Du 17 au 31 mars 2022
Festival de films européens de Paris
Du 17 au 31 mars 2022

La Chasse aux papillons

de Otar Iosseliani

(Fiction, France/Allemagne/Italie, 1991, 115’, C, VOSTF) avec Narda Blanchet, Pierrette Pompon-Bailhache, Alexandre Tcherkassoff, Thamar Tarassachvili

La Chasse aux papillons

Une châtelaine Marie-Agnès de Bayonnette vit dans la demeure familiale en compagnie de sa cousine Solange. La vie des deux vieilles dames est régie par les codes traditionnels de l’aristocratie. Lorsque Marie-Agnès décède, les héritiers venus de Russie doivent se disputer le domaine avec une société japonaise qui ambitionne d’acheter la propriété.

Prix Pasinetti au Festival de Venise 1992.


« C’est simplement l’histoire de l’intrusion d’étrangers « avancés » et progressistes chez des indigènes qui vivent dans un monde harmonieux et fermé, selon des règles dépassées. C’est un phénomène qui a lieu un peu partout sur terre… Si bien que j’aurais pu faire ce film n’importe où, y compris en Géorgie. Mais je n’aurais pas pu construire une parabole pure. J’aurais été obligé de tenir compte d’éléments étrangers à ce drame, de la lutte d’un peuple contre l’héritage du bolchévisme. Quand on veut conter une fable, on doit être comme un chimiste qui travaille « sous vide » dans un laboratoire, avec des éléments purs : un lion affaibli reçoit un coup de sabot d’un âne, un renard sage flatte un corbeau narcissique, une fourmi stupide donne des leçons à une cigale nonchalante et poète… » Otar Iosseliani, Cahiers du cinéma, n°461, novembre 1992

Otar Iosseliani
Otar Iosseliani

Né en 1934, à Tbilissi, Géorgie, Otar Iosseliani fait de brillantes études de musique avant d’entamer des études scientifiques à Moscou, qu’il abandonne pour intégrer l’institut national de la cinématographie de Moscou. Ses premiers courts métrages Aquarelle (1958) et Avril (1961) sont interdits de diffusion en URSS. Son premier long-métrage La chute des feuilles (1966) retrace la vie quotidienne d’une communauté paysanne dans un style très impressionniste. Son art de distance contemplative dans un style proche de celui de Jacques Tati, son maître revendiqué s’affirme avec Il était une fois un merle chanteur (1971) et Pastorale (1976). Son œuvre oscille entre la fiction et le documentaire. Son attirance vers le langage purement visuel le rapproche des auteurs de la Nouvelle vague française : François Truffaut, Claude Chabrol, Jean-Luc Godard. Malgré la renommée internationale de leur créateur, ces films seront interdits à l’exportation pendant de nombreuses années. Installé en France depuis 1982, Iosseliani réalise son premier film français Les favoris de la lune en 1984 qui obtient le Grand Prix spécial du Jury à la Mostra de Venise. Il signe ensuite Et la lumière fut (1989), La chasse aux papillons (1991), Brigands, chapitre VII (1995), Lundi matin (2001) – Prix du Meilleur Réalisateur au Festival de Berlin, Jardins en automne (2005). Hors de son pays, Otar Iosseliani parvient à garder la vision humaniste nuancée d’humour et d’ironie qui a fait le succès de ses films géorgiens. Son dernier film en date est Chantrapas (2009) est une ode à la liberté. Il suit l’histoire d’un jeune réalisateur (alter ego de l’auteur) qui ne fait aucun compromis avec la censure, qu’elle soit idéologique ou économique, au nom de la liberté de la pensée créatrice. Il a également réalisé plusieurs documentaires pour la télévision : Euskadi (1982), Un petit monastère en Toscane (1988) et Seule Géorgie, un triptyque documentaire de plus de quatre heures sur son pays d’origine. www.cineressources.net

Autres films : Hommage aux maîtres