European Film Festival Paris
from 17 to 31 March 2022
European Film Festival Paris
from 17 to 31 March 2022

Il pleut dans mon village / Biće skoro propast sveta

by Aleksandar Petrović

(Fiction, Yugoslavia/Serbia, 1968, 84’, BW, Fr ST) with Annie Girardot, Ivan Palúch, Mija Aleksić, Eva Ras

Il pleut dans mon village

In a small, isolated village in Vojvodina, the village idiot, young Gotza, puts up with the village men’s coarse behavior without complaint. Only young swineherd Trisha dares to defend her. Following a drunken brawl, the two youngsters find themselves married. But schoolteacher Reza’s arrival in the village provokes internal disorder, a consequence of the effect the young woman has on the village men.


“… with so much brilliant vitality and sexual rage that all the ugliness is transmuted into breathtaking beauty. An authentic masterpiece”. Michel Maurdor, Nouvel Observateur

“… the film evokes a real and an unreal atmosphere to recreate the nightmarish struggle between good and evil that the world is currently going through”. Aldo Scagnetti

“The story is simple, powerful and mundane, but under Petrovic’s influence it pries even deeper. As it happens, people don’t change as quickly as governments or ideologies. Even though the film is not anti-socialist, it underscores the crises that may arise when there is conflict between opinions and individual theories”. Gene Moskowitz, Variety, USA

“… Without doubt my most difficult film. In terms of both its structural realization and some more formal issues. It was difficult to harmonize all the many varieties of the human spirit, the range of spiritual versatility.  Aside from difficulties of style, other issues arose as we worked, and especially regarding the actors.  More than in my previous films, in It Rains in my Village I had a wide range of contrasts in my chosen artists’ personalities.  On the one hand, famous international star Annie Girardot, on the other, a great many people who had never acted before. Harmonizing their acting together was made much easier by the fact that the star of my film, Annie Girardot, was also a great actress”.  Aleksandar Petrović

Aleksandar Petrović
Aleksandar Petrović

Aleksandar Petrović is a Serbian director and screenwriter who died in Paris in 1994. He was one of the first directors of his generation to shake off the propaganda stereotypes and codes that plagued Yugoslav cinema. He studied at the Prague Film School and at the Belgrade Faculty of Philosophy where he obtained a diploma in Art History. He directed his first short subject, Flight Above the Marches, in 1957. His films And Love has Vanished (1961) and Days (1963) mark the beginnings of a modern sensibility in Yugoslav cinema. He was appointed professor of direction at the Belgrade Academy of Cinema, Theater, and Television. Three (1965), was nominated at the Oscars and became a worldwide success. I Even Met Happy Gypsies (1967) won the Palme d’or and the FIPRESCI award at the Cannes Film Festival. In 1968, he directed It Rains in My Village, inspired by Dostoevsky’s The Possessed. In 1973, the Communist government forced him to resign his professorship in cinematography. He then left to work abroad.  The Master and Margaret (1973) won the Silver Lion at the Venice Mostra, among other prizes.  In 1977, he filmed Group Portrait with a Lady, based on the Heinrich Böll novel. His last film was Migrations, directed in 1989.

Other movies: Tributes

Festival de films européens de Paris
Du 17 au 31 mars 2022
Festival de films européens de Paris
Du 17 au 31 mars 2022

Il pleut dans mon village / Biće skoro propast sveta

de Aleksandar Petrović

(Fiction, Yougoslavie/Serbie, 1968, 84’, NB, VOSTF) avec Annie Girardot, Ivan Palúch, Mija Aleksić, Eva Ras

Il pleut dans mon village

Dans un petit village isolé de la Voïvodine, la jeune Gotza, l’innocente du village, fait objet de la grossièreté des hommes qu’elle suit sans malice. Seul Trisha, le jeune porcher au coeur simple, ose la défendre. A la suite d’une rixe et d’une nuit de beuverie, les deux jeunes gens se trouvent mariés. Mais l’arrivée de l’institutrice Reza dans le village va semer un désordre intégral, conséquence du trouble créé chez les hommes du village par la jeune femme.


« … Tout cela brille de tellement de vitalité et de rage sexuelle que cette laideur se mue en beauté à couper le souffle. Un chef-d’œuvre authentique. » Michel Maurdor, Nouvel Observateur

« … Le film évoque une atmosphère de réel et d’irréel et tend à la création d’un cauchemar de la lutte entre le bien et le mal dans laquelle le monde actuel vit. » Aldo Scagnetti

« L’histoire est simple, puissante et terrestre, mais sous l’influence de Petrović gagne en profondeur. Il transparaît que les personnes ne changent pas aussi vite que les gouvernements ni les idéologies. Même si le film n’est pas anti-socialiste, il souligne les crises qui peuvent surgir en cas de conflit entre des opinions et théories individuelles ». Gene Moskowitz, Variety, Etats-Unis

« … C’est sans contestation mon film le plus difficile ! Aussi bien dans sa réalisation structurelle comme sur le plan formel. Il a été difficile d’accorder toutes ces différentes formes de l’esprit humain, toute cette polyvalence de l’âme. A part les difficultés de style, d’autres questions se sont posées dans le travail, notamment avec les acteurs. Plus que pour mes films précédents, j’ai eu pour Il pleut dans mon village une nette graduation des contrastes dans le choix des personnages d’artistes. D’un côté la célèbre vedette internationale Annie Girardot, de l’autre côté un grand nombre de personnes qui n’ont jamais joué. Pour harmoniser le jeu, j’ai été beaucoup aidé par le fait que la vedette de mon film Annie Girardot est aussi une grande actrice. » Aleksandar Petrović

Aleksandar Petrović
Aleksandar Petrović

Aleksandar Petrović est un réalisateur et scénariste d’origine serbe, né en 1929 et mort en 1994, à Paris. C’est l’un des premiers réalisateurs de sa génération à se défaire des stéréotypes et des codes de propagande, qui gangrenaient le cinéma yougoslave. Il a étudié à l’Académie du Film de Prague et à la Faculté de Philosophie de Belgrade, où il obtient un diplôme d’Histoire de l’Art. C’est en 1957 qu’il réalise son premier court-métrage, Entre le ciel et le marais. Ses films Elle et lui (1961) et Les Jours (1963) marquent le début de la sensibilité moderne du nouveau cinéma yougoslave. Il est nommé professeur de mise en scène à l’Académie de Cinéma, Théâtre et Télévision de Belgrade. Tri (1965), candidat aux Oscars, est un succès mondial. J’ai même rencontré des tziganes heureux (1967) remporte le Grand Prix et le FIPRECI au Festival de Cannes. En 1968, il réalise Il pleut dans mon village, inspiré par Les Possédés de Dostoïevski. En 1973, le gouvernement communiste le force à quitter sa chaire de professeur de cinématographie. Dès lors, il travaille à l’étranger. Maître et Marguerite (1973) est récompensé de Lion d’argent à la Mostra de Venise, parmi d’autres prix. En 1977, il tourne Portrait de groupe avec dame, d’après Heinrich Böll. Son dernier film est Migrations, réalisé en 1989.

Autres films : Hommage aux maîtres