European Film Festival Paris
from 17 to 31 March 2022
European Film Festival Paris
from 17 to 31 March 2022

The Three / Трое

by Anna Melikyan

(Fiction, Russia, 2020, 127’, C, En ST) with Konstantin Khabensky, Viktoria Isakova, Yulia Peresild

The Three

What is one to do when one has a wife, with whom life and cohabitation are well established, and even quarrels do not exist anymore? For Alexander and Zlata, there are memories, a common past, a lot of good things and lots of nothings, all in all it’s just life, like everyone else’s. And then suddenly love fills his life again when he meets Veronica. Whom will he choose?


« It’s difficult to name Western filmmakers that could be compared with Anna Melikyan (in the contemporary Russian cinema she stands completely apart). The first name that comes to mind is Nancy Meyers, the queen of easy-watching movies, author of romcoms Something’s Gotta GiveThe HolidayThe Intern. But opposite to Meyer’s films, the movies of Melikyan have a certain candour, an intentional naivety that makes them very touching. Besides, it’s the hallmark of Melikyan as the filmmaker: she masterfully plays with the well-known clichés avoiding platitudes and banality to tell stories of life in all its infinite complexity and its marvel.» Egor Belikov, forbes.ru

Anna Melikyan
Anna Melikyan

Anna Melikyan, born in 1976, grew up in Erevan, Armenia. At 17, she moves to Moscow where she starts working as a director for TV programs and a scriptwriter for advertisement agencies. After graduating from All-Russian State University of Cinematography (VGIK), her first full feature Mars (2004) is premiered at Berlin International Film Festival. Her second film Mermaid (2007) receives numerous awards including Directing Award at Sundance and FIPRESCI Prize at Berlin International Film Festival. Her other works include experimental short Poste restante (2000), Star (2014), About Love (2015) and Fairy (2019). She is the founder of the producing company Magnum, focused on cinema and TV projects as well as discovering new talents.

Other movies: Competition Prix Sauvage

Festival de films européens de Paris
Du 17 au 30 novembre Paris 2021
Festival de films européens de Paris
Du 17 au 30 novembre Paris 2021

The Three / Трое

de Anna Melikyan

(Fiction, Russie, 2020, 127’, C, VOSTF) avec Konstantin Khabensky, Viktoria Isakova, Yulia Peresild

The Three

Qu’est-ce on fait quand le mariage est si solide que même les disputes ne sont plus possibles ? Après dix ans de vie ensemble, Zlata et Alexandre partagent beaucoup de choses, entre de beaux souvenirs et de moments de rien du tout, leur vie de couple est tout à fait ordinaire. Mais un jour, Alexandre fait la connaissance de Veronica et l’amour remplit sa vie à nouveau. Qui va-t-il choisir ?


« Il est difficile de trouver des réalisateurs occidentaux avec qui on pourrait comparer Anna Melikyan (dans le cinéma russe contemporain, elle occupe une place tout à fait à part). Le premier qui vient à l’esprit est Nancy Meyers, reine du cinéma easy-watching, auteure de comédies romantiques Tout peut arriver, The Holiday, Le Nouveau stagiaire. Mais, à la différence de Meyers, les films d’Anna Melikyan possèdent une candeur, une naïveté intentionnelle qui les rend très touchants. C’est d’ailleurs la marque de son cinéma : éviter des propos creux et des platitudes, tout en jouant avec des cli- chés reconnaissables, pour raconter la vie dans toute sa complexité inouïe et son émerveillement. » Egor Belikov, forbes.ru

Anna Melikyan
Anna Melikyan

Anna Melikyan, née en 1976, grandit à Erevan, Arménie. A 17 ans, elle part à Moscou où elle travaille en tant que réalisatrice de programmes télévisés et scénariste pour des agences de publicité. Elle intègre VGIK (l’Institut National de la Cinématographie), son court-métrage Poste restante (2000) est montré dans plusieurs festivals internationaux. Son premier long-métrage Mars (2004) débute au Festival de Berlin. Mermaid (2008) reçoit le prix de mise en scène à Sundance et le prix FIPRESCI à Berlin. Suivent les films Star (2004), About Love (2015) et Fairy (2019). Anna Melikyan est également fondatrice de la société de production Magnum, au sein de laquelle elle produit de nombreux films et séries télévisées qui lui valent une grande reconnaissance auprès du large public.

Autres films : Compétition Prix Sauvage