European Film Festival Paris
from 17 to 31 March 2022
European Film Festival Paris
from 17 to 31 March 2022

The Promenade / Набережная

by Nadya Zakharova

(Documentary, Russia, 2021, 45’, C, En ST)

The Promenade

A chronicle story about life of one seemingly unremarkable embankment of the Kama River in a remote area of ​​Perm. But it is unremarkable only at a first glance. If an attentive viewer takes a closer look at what is happening here, he will be able to catch the whisper of absolutely incredible events, real life experiences and stories that city residents unwittingly entrust these stones. The key thing is to carefully observe!


“Reality is a complex stuff. I think that mythology is more real than the reality itself. The myth depicts the universe in its wholeness, not only the man. That’s why I like fairy tales. And to take news stories for reality is a true error. For me, it’s a difficult theme, I still need to sort out what is reality.” Nadya Zakharova

Nadya Zakharova
Nadya Zakharova

Nadya Zakharova was born in Perm, Russia. After a degree in Arts and Graphic Design at the Perm Pedagogical College, she continued her education at the Moscow School of New Cinema studying under Artur Aristakisyan. Her graduate film Fire (2016) was awarded as Best National Documentary at the Message to Man IFF in St Petersburg, Russia, and participated in various festivals. Her short documentary Dust of Time (2017) set in Nepal was also a participant of many festivals. In 2019 the short documentary The Bell co-directed by Nadya Zakharova received a Special Mention at the Beat Film Festival in Moscow.

Other movies: Competition Present

Festival de films européens de Paris
Du 17 au 30 novembre Paris 2021
Festival de films européens de Paris
Du 17 au 30 novembre Paris 2021

The Promenade / Набережная

de Nadya Zakharova

(Documentaire, Russie, 2021, 45’, C, VOSTF)

The Promenade

Chronique de la vie d’une ville au bord du fleuve Kama, dans la région éloignée de Perm. Filmée depuis le quai à première vue tout à fait ordinaire, ce n’est pourtant qu’une question de regard. Un spectateur attentif pourra capter, comme par le vent, le murmure de la vie, des événements extraordinaires, des histoires vraies que les habitants confient à ce lieu. Le secret est dans l’observation.


« Réalité est une chose complexe. J’ai parfois l’impression que les mythes sont plus réels que la réalité même. Le mythe parle de l’univers en entier, et pas seulement de l’homme. Pour cette raison j’aime les contes. Mais prendre les sujets d’actualité pour de la réalité est une erreur, j’en suis certaine. C’est un thème difficile pour moi, j’ai encore beaucoup à comprendre pour essayer d’aborder la réalité. » Nadya Zakharova

Nadya Zakharova
Nadya Zakharova

Nadya Zakharova, autrice de films documentaires, est née à Perm, Russie. Après des études d’Art et Design graphique à l’Institut Pédagogique de Perm, elle intègre L’École du nouveau cinéma à Moscou où elle se forme avec Artur Aristakisyan. Son documentaire de fin d’études Fire (2016) qui suit deux communautés gitanes, a reçu le prix du meilleur documentaire au festival Message to Man à St Petersburg. Son deuxième film documentaire Dust of Time (2017), filmé au Népal, a également été sélectionné dans de nombreux festivals internationaux. En 2019, son court-métrage documentaire The Bell a reçu la Mention spéciale au Beat Film Festival de Moscow.

Autres films : Compétition Present