European Film Festival Paris
from 17 to 31 March 2022
European Film Festival Paris
from 17 to 31 March 2022

Our Land, Our Altar / A Nossa Terra, o Nosso Altar

by André Guiomar

(Documentary, Portugal, 2020, 78’, C, En ST)

Our Land, Our Altar

The demolition of Aleixo neighborhood affects the identity of its community and the sense of belonging, forcing the people to adapt. The film witnesses the everyday routines, rituals, relationships and the tensions caused by the impending demolition of the towers where they have spent their entire lives – as gentrification dictates the dispersion of these low-income communities.


“The feature directing debut of Andre Guiomar documents and dignifies the lives of the last residents in a social housing estate in Porto where eviction has become inevitable. An impressionistic work which captures an emotional sense of community and loss.” www.screendaily.com

André Guiomar
André Guiomar

André Guiomar is a Portuguese director who lives and works between Portugal and Mozambique. During the last six years he filmed “Our Land, Our Altar” about the end of Aleixo neighbourhood in the city of Porto. He also directed the award-winning documentary shorts Piton (2011) and Skin of Light (2018), the last one winner of the Jury Prize at DocLisboa 2018. He is currently pre-producing New Chung – The Strength of a Bull, a feature documentary in Mozambique. He has equally worked as the cinematographer and editor on several films and short films.

Other movies: Competition Present

Festival de films européens de Paris
Du 17 au 30 novembre Paris 2021
Festival de films européens de Paris
Du 17 au 30 novembre Paris 2021

Our Land, Our Altar / A Nossa Terra, o Nosso Altar

de André Guiomar

(Documentaire, Portugal, 2020, 78’, C, VOSTF)

Our Land, Our Altar

La démolition du quartier Aleixo affecte l’identité de sa communauté et son sens d’appartenance. En suivant les habitants, leur routine quotidienne, leurs relations et les tensions causées par la destruction inéluctable de tout ce qui leur est cher, le film dépeint le portrait d’une communauté en cours de désintégration.


« Le premier long-métrage du réalisateur André Guiomar dépeint avec dignité la vie des derniers habitants du quartier de logements sociaux à Porto, destinés à la démolition. Le film réussit à rendre, en impressions délicates, toutes les émotions de la communauté condamnée à disparaître. » Allan Hunter, screendaily.com

André Guiomar
André Guiomar

André Guiomar est un réalisateur portugais. Il partage son temps et son travail entre le Portugal et le Mozambique. Après deux court-métrages documentaires Piton (2011) et Skin of Light (2018), récompensé du Prix du jury à DocLisboa, il réalise son premier documentaire de long métrage Our Land, Our Altar, auquel il a consacré six ans du tournage. Il est actuellement en pré-production de son prochain film documentaire au Mozambique : New Chung – The Strength of a Bull. André Guiomar collabore régulièrement à d’autres projets en tant que directeur de photographie et monteur.

Autres films : Compétition Present