European Film Festival Paris
from 17 to 31 March 2022
European Film Festival Paris
from 17 to 31 March 2022

Samira’s Dream / Ndoto ya Samira

by Nino Tropiano

(Documentary, Ireland/Italy/Switzerland, 2020, 88', C, Fr ST)

Samira’s Dream

Samira, a young Zanzibari woman, aspires to make a family like all her friends but she is also determined to pursue higher education and a career of her dreams. For seven years, social pressure and respect for tradition have constantly pushed her to choose one path over the other.


“To be genuinely interested in an ordinary character, i.e. to have empathy, means that you have to have imagination. I believe deeply that individuals change the course of history. If you follow any person’s life, over a period of time, you will be able to detect those “plot points” that are the key elements of any decently written screenplay. In other words, life is cinema.” Nino Tropiano, filmireland.net

Nino Tropiano
Nino Tropiano

Born in Monopoli (Bari), Nino Tropiano moved to Dublin in the mid-90s. He trained as an actor and worked as a freelance photographer. He graduated from the National Film School in Dublin with a 50-minute film entitled My Daughter Does Madonna (world premiere at the Krakow Film Festival). Tropiano went on to direct and produce Mary’s Last Show, Class Reunion and the short film The Fall, winner of the Urlo Award at the Unimovie Festival in Pescara. His documentary Chippers (2008) was awarded Best Documentary Memorie Migranti at Gualdo Tadino, 2010. Samira’s Dream (2020) was selected in many festivals around the world. He is currently working on Wild Manjazz, a feature-length music documentary, and collaborating with Elena Leoni on the adaptation of her novel Portami a casa into a screenplay.

Other movies: Open World

Festival de films européens de Paris
Du 17 au 30 novembre Paris 2021
Festival de films européens de Paris
Du 17 au 30 novembre Paris 2021

Samira’s Dream / Ndoto ya Samira

de Nino Tropiano

(Documentaire, Irlande/Italie/Suisse, 2020, 88’, C, VOSTF)

Samira’s Dream

Samira, jeune femme zanzibarienne, aspire à fonder une famille comme toutes ses amies mais elle est également déterminée à poursuivre des études supérieures et une brillante carrière. Durant 7 ans, la pression sociale et le respect des traditions la poussent constamment à choisir une voie plutôt que l’autre.


« S’intéresser sincèrement à un personnage ordinaire, c’est-à-dire avoir de l’empathie, signifie qu’il faut avoir de l’imagination. Je crois profondément que les individus changent le cours de l’histoire. Si vous suivez la vie de n’importe quelle personne, pendant un certain temps, vous serez en mesure de détecter ces « points d’intrigue » qui sont les éléments clés de tout scénario décemment bien écrit. En d’autres termes, la vie, c’est du cinéma. » Nino Tropiano, filmireland.net

Nino Tropiano
Nino Tropiano

Né à Monopoli (Bari), Nino Tropiano s’installe à Dublin au milieu des années 90. Il suit une formation d’acteur et travaille comme photographe indépendant. Il obtient un diplôme en réalisation et production à la National Film School de Dublin, avec une œuvre de 50 min, intitulée My Daughter Does Madonna (première mondiale au Festival du film de Cracovie). Tropiano réalise et produit ensuite Mary’s Last Show, Class Reunion et le court-métrage The Fall, lauréat du prix Urlo au Festival Unimovie de Pescara. Son documentaire Chippers (2008) est sacré Meilleur documentaire Memorie Migranti à Gualdo Tadino, 2010. Samira’s Dream (2020) est sélectionné dans de nombreux festivals à travers le monde. Actuellement, il prépare Wild Manjazz, un long métrage documentaire musical, et collabore avec Elena Leoni sur l’adaptation de son roman Portami a casa en un scénario.

Autres films : Open World