European Film Festival Paris
from 17 to 31 March 2022
European Film Festival Paris
from 17 to 31 March 2022

Editorial

“Nothing is more dangerous in diplomacy than to talk about peace as an amateur! Whenever the desire for peace has reached a certain intensity and could not be contained, we have had war!”
Robert Musil, The Man Without Qualities (Der Mann ohne Eigenschaften), 1933

 

Dear friends, dear spectators, dear partners,

This is the seventeenth edition of the festival Europe around Europe with always the same mission and desire: “to present to everyone wonderful films that no one has seen”, as formulated by Henri Langlois, the legendary founder of the Cinémathèque française.

From disaster to disaster, from fear to dread, here we are with the hope that the films of the festival will reveal to us some aspects of contemporary reality and will give us, perhaps, through cinematographic art, and this is quite ambitious, some keys to the understanding of the future of our planet. How infinitesimally small it seems compared to the announced end of a world.

Come and see or see again the films gathered around the 2022 Festival theme, Black and White, whether it be the history of cinema, cinematographic writings or the question of racial discrimination; European masters Otar Iosseliani, Ingmar Bergman, Henning Carlsen, Knut-Erik Jensen, Alexandre Petrović, Manoel de Oliveira; the Mostra Imaginaires Coloniaux, which presents mostly unshown Portuguese films that since 1920, and up to the present day, have dealt with the long history of the “Empire”; the intense and melancholic trilogy Welcome in Vienna by Axel Corti …

And above all, be curious, come and see the films of today’s European cinema talents, come, and meet their authors who, from all over Europe, will come to Paris, support the creators and the cinemas that are finally open.

Sixty years after the signing of the Oberhausen Manifesto on February 28, 1962, the text is still relevant today. Like its signatories, filmmakers from Germany, we believe “that the future of cinema belongs to those who have proven that they speak a new cinematographic language”. And that: “This new cinema needs new freedoms. It must free itself from corporatist conformism, from the influence of commercial partners, from the tutelage of interest groups.”

Wonderful screenings and meetings,

Irena Bilic
Founder and Artistic director

28th February 2022, Paris

Irena Bilic

Irena BilicFounder and Artistic director

Festival de films européens de Paris
Du 17 au 31 mars 2022
Festival de films européens de Paris
Du 17 au 31 mars 2022

L’éditorial

« Rien n’est plus dangereux, en diplomatie, que de parler de la paix en amateur ! Chaque fois que le désir de paix a atteint une certaine intensité et n’a pu être contenu, on a eu la guerre ! »
Robert Musil, L’Homme sans qualités (Der Mann ohne Eigenschaften), 1933

 

Chers amis, chers spectateurs, chers partenaires,

La dix-septième édition du festival L’Europe autour de l’Europe est toujours animée par la même mission et le même désir tels que formulé par Henri Langlois, le légendaire fondateur de la Cinémathèque française : « présenter à tout le monde les films merveilleux que personne n’a vu ».

De catastrophe en désastre, de crainte en effroi, nous voilà avec l’espoir que les films du festival nous révéleront des aspects de la réalité contemporaine et nous donneront, par l’art cinématographique (et c’est très ambitieux), quelques clefs de la compréhension de l’avenir de notre planète. Que cela paraît infiniment petit par rapport à la fin annoncée d’un monde.

Venez voir ou revoir les films réunis autour du thème du festival 2022 Noir et Blanc, qu’il s’agisse de l’histoire de cinéma, d’écritures cinématographiques ou de la question de la discrimination raciale ; les maîtres européens Otar Iosseliani, Ingmar Bergman, Henning Carlsen, Knut-Erik Jensen, Alexandre Petrovic, Manoel de Oliveira ; la Mostra Imaginaires Coloniaux qui présente des films portugais pour la plupart inédits, qui depuis 1920, et jusqu’à nos jours, ont traité de la longue histoire de “l’Empire”; l’intense et mélancolique trilogie Welcome in Vienna d’Axel Corti …

Et surtout soyez curieux, venez voir les films des talents du cinéma européen d’aujourd’hui, venez rencontrer leurs auteurs qui, de toute l’Europe, se rendront à Paris, soutenez les créateurs et les salles de cinémas qui sont enfin ouvertes.

Soixante ans après la signature du Manifeste d’Oberhausen du 28 février 1962, ce texte aujourd’hui est toujours d’actualité. Tout comme ses signataires, cinéastes allemands, nous croyons « que l’avenir du cinéma appartient à ceux qui ont prouvé qu’ils parlent un nouveau langage cinématographique ». Et que « ce nouveau cinéma a besoin de nouvelles libertés. Il doit se libérer du conformisme corporatiste, de l’influence des partenaires commerciaux, de la tutelle des groupes d’intérêt. »

Belle projections et rencontres,

Irena Bilic
Fondatrice et Déléguée générale

Le 28 février 2022, Paris

Irena Bilic

Irena BilicFondatrice et Déléguée générale