Director: Otar Iosseliani

Born in 1934 in Tbilisi, Georgia, Otar Iosseliani studied music brilliantly before starting scientific studies in Moscow, which he abandoned to join the National Institute of Cinematography in Moscow. His first short films Aquarelle (1958) and April (1961) were blacklisted in the USSR. His first feature-length film, Falling Leaves (1966), traces the daily life of a peasant community in a very impressionist style. His art of contemplative distance, similar to Jacques Tati’s, his acknowledged master, asserted itself with Once Upon A Time There Was A Singing Blackbird (1971) and Pastorale (1976). His work totters between fiction and documentary. His attraction to purely visual language brought him closer to the authors of the Nouvelle Vague Française: François Truffaut, Claude Chabrol, Jean-Luc Godard. Despite their creator’s international reputation, these films were banned from export for many years. Based in France since 1982, Iosseliani directed his first French film Favorites of the Moon in 1984, which won the Special Jury Prize at the Venice Mostra. He then shot And Then There Was Light (1989), Chasing Butterflies (1991), Brigands, Chapter VII (1995), Monday Morning (2001) – Silver Bear for Best Director at the Berlin International Film Festival, Gardens in Autumn (2005). Outside his country, Otar Iosseliani manages to keep the humanist vision nuanced with humor and irony that made the success of his Georgian films. His latest film Chantrapas (2009) is an ode to freedom. It follows the story of a young director (alter ego of the author) who makes no compromise with censorship, whether ideological or economic, in the name of freedom of creative thought. He has also directed several documentaries for television: Euskadi (1982), A Little Monastery in Tuscany (1988) and Georgia, Alone, a documentary triptych of more than four hours about his country of origin. www.cineressources.net

Aquarelle

A laundress quarrels with her drunkard husband. He takes refuge in a museum. Iosseliani made this adaptation of Alexandre Grin’s novella during his studies at VGIK.…

Sapovnela

The filmmaker follows the old gardener who, like a Demiurge, arranges nature to make it even more beautiful, creating beautiful floral compositions. The only color film made by Iosseliani before 1983.…

April

Two newlyweds settle in a new apartment, equipped with the bare essentials. Their life is happy but when the couple starts to pursue comfort and property, quarrels break out.…

La Fonte

After the banning of his second film April, Iosseliani worked for a few months in a metallurgical factory. A poetic and committed vision, the film La Fonte shows the harsh reality of the working-class world.

Falling Leaves

Niko and Otar, two young graduates of the Institute of Oenology in Tbilisi, are hired by a wine coop. First loves accompany their discovery of professional life: Niko woos Marina, the prettiest girl in the factory. One day, they learn …

Georgian Ancient Songs

This short subject lets us see and hear Georgian popular culture. The four sequences are filmed in four different provinces – Svanetia, Mingrelia, Imetheria and Kakhti, each of which has its own tradition of ancestral polyphonic singing.…

Once Upon A Time There Was A Singing Blackbird

Guia Agladze, dreamy and carefree, is a percussionist in the Tbilisi Symphony Orchestra. His professional life boils down to giving a roll of the timpani at the beginning and the end of a concert. In perpetual motion, Guia lives like …

Pastorale

One summer, a quartet of musicians goes to a small village in the Georgian mountains to rehearse. They stay with a family in which three generations live together. Little by little, the inhabitants find themselves under the charm of the …

Seven Scenes For Black And White Cinema

A cinematic tribute to the city of Paris, made up of small sketches interspersed with frames shot in the streets of Paris. An affectionate portrait of the capital and its inhabitants, as seen by a filmmaker.…

Euskadi

La caméra d’Otar Iosseliani suit les préparatifs de la fête pastorale à Pagolle au Pays Basque. Chants, danses, gestes et mouvements de cette culture très vivace sont captés avec minutie et attention. Le documentaire laisse transparaitre la tendresse et la …

Director : Otar Iosseliani

Né en 1934, à Tbilissi, Géorgie, Otar Iosseliani fait de brillantes études de musique avant d’entamer des études scientifiques à Moscou, qu’il abandonne pour intégrer l’institut national de la cinématographie de Moscou. Ses premiers courts métrages Aquarelle (1958) et Avril (1961) sont interdits de diffusion en URSS. Son premier long-métrage La chute des feuilles (1966) retrace la vie quotidienne d’une communauté paysanne dans un style très impressionniste. Son art de distance contemplative dans un style proche de celui de Jacques Tati, son maître revendiqué s’affirme avec Il était une fois un merle chanteur (1971) et Pastorale (1976). Son œuvre oscille entre la fiction et le documentaire. Son attirance vers le langage purement visuel le rapproche des auteurs de la Nouvelle vague française : François Truffaut, Claude Chabrol, Jean-Luc Godard. Malgré la renommée internationale de leur créateur, ces films seront interdits à l’exportation pendant de nombreuses années. Installé en France depuis 1982, Iosseliani réalise son premier film français Les favoris de la lune en 1984 qui obtient le Grand Prix spécial du Jury à la Mostra de Venise. Il signe ensuite Et la lumière fut (1989), La chasse aux papillons (1991), Brigands, chapitre VII (1995), Lundi matin (2001) – Prix du Meilleur Réalisateur au Festival de Berlin, Jardins en automne (2005). Hors de son pays, Otar Iosseliani parvient à garder la vision humaniste nuancée d’humour et d’ironie qui a fait le succès de ses films géorgiens. Son dernier film en date est Chantrapas (2009) est une ode à la liberté. Il suit l’histoire d’un jeune réalisateur (alter ego de l’auteur) qui ne fait aucun compromis avec la censure, qu’elle soit idéologique ou économique, au nom de la liberté de la pensée créatrice. Il a également réalisé plusieurs documentaires pour la télévision : Euskadi (1982), Un petit monastère en Toscane (1988) et Seule Géorgie, un triptyque documentaire de plus de quatre heures sur son pays d’origine. www.cineressources.net

Aquarelle

Une blanchisseuse se dispute avec son mari, ivrogne. Celui-ci se réfugie dans un musée. Iosseliani réalise cette adaptation de la nouvelle d’Alexandre Grin pendant ses études à VGIK.…

Sapovnela

Le cinéaste suit le vieux jardinier qui, tel un démiurge, ordonne la nature pour la rendre encore plus belle, et crée des magnifiques compositions florales. Le seul film en couleur réalisé par Iosseliani avant 1983.…

Avril

Deux jeunes mariés s’installent dans un appartement neuf, équipé du strict nécessaire. Leur vie est heureuse mais lorsque le couple se met à la poursuite du confort et des biens, les querelles éclatent.…

La Fonte

Après l’interdiction de son deuxième film Avril, Iosseliani a travaillé pendant quelques mois dans une usine métallurgique. Dans une vision poétique et engagée, le film La Fonte donne à voir la dure réalité du monde ouvrier.…

La Chute des feuilles

Niko et Otar, deux jeunes diplômés de l’Institut d’œnologie de Tbilissi, sont embauchés dans une coopérative vinicole. A la découverte de la vie professionnelle s’ajoutent les premières expériences amoureuses : Niko veut conquérir Marina, la plus jolie fille de l’usine. …

Vieilles chansons géorgiennes

Ce court-métrage donne à voir et à entendre la culture populaire géorgienne. Les quatre séquences présentées sont filmées dans quatre provinces différentes – la Svanétie, la Mingrélie, l’Iméréthie et la Kakhétie, qui chacune possède sa propre tradition du chant polyphonique …

Il était une fois un merle chanteur

Guia Agladze, rêveur et insouciant, est percussionniste dans l’Orchestre symphonique à Tbilissi. Sa vie professionnelle se résume à donner un coup de timbale au début et à la fin d’un concert. Sans cesse en mouvement, Guia vit comme un oiseau …

Pastorale

Un été, un quatuor de musiciens se rend dans un petit village des montagnes géorgiennes pour répéter. Ils s’installent chez une famille où cohabitent trois générations. Petit à petit, les habitants se retrouvent sous le charme de la musique et …

La Chasse aux papillons

Une châtelaine Marie-Agnès de Bayonnette vit dans la demeure familiale en compagnie de sa cousine Solange. La vie des deux vieilles dames est régie par les codes traditionnels de l’aristocratie. Lorsque Marie-Agnès décède, les héritiers venus de Russie doivent se …

Euskadi

La caméra d’Otar Iosseliani suit les préparatifs de la fête pastorale à Pagolle au Pays Basque. Chants, danses, gestes et mouvements de cette culture très vivace sont captés avec minutie et attention. Le documentaire laisse transparaitre la tendresse et la …