Director: Lars Edman and William Johansson

Born in Chile and raised in Sweden, Lars Edman returned to South America to attend the Valparaiso Film School. There, he discovered that hundreds of kids had fallen badly ill because of toxic waste at his home town, Boliden, in Sweden. Toxic Playground (2010) was Lars’ first film based on his research. It went on to win 6 international awards, screening in over 30 international festivals and being broadcast on TV across Europe. Lars has since retrained as a speech and language therapist and now lives in the north of Norway. Arica is his second feature documentary.

William Johansson met Lars Edman at film school in Chile and since Toxic Playground has continued to work as an investigative journalist, film-maker and editor. His credits include The Essence of Terror (2013), Democracy Road (2016) and The Witness – broadcast on SVT, NRK and Al Jazeera. In 2014 William became a partner at Laika Film and Television in Stockholm, Sweden.

Arica

In 1980’s, a Swedish mining company exported 20,000 tons of toxic waste to the Chilean desert town of Arica. Thousands of people became sick, many died from cancer. Arica plunges us into the groundbreaking corporate accountability trial exposing how decisions

Director : Lars Edman et William Johansson

Né au Chili, Lars Edman a grandi en Suède. Il retourne en Amérique du Sud pour suivre des études en cinéma à Valparaiso. Il découvre alors que des centaines d’enfants sont tombés malades à cause d’une décharge toxique provenant de sa ville natale en Suède, Boliden. En 2010 il réalise Toxic Playground, basé sur sa recherche. Le film a été sélectionné à plusieurs festivals internationaux, primé 6 fois et projeté à la télévision en Europe. Par la suite, Lars a aussi suivi une formation en thérapie du langage. Actuellement, il vit et travaille en Norvège. Arica est son deuxième film documentaire.

William et Lars se sont rencontrés à l’école de cinéma au Chili. Ils ont tourné leur premier film Toxic Playground en 2010. Depuis, William Johansson travaille en tant que journaliste d’investigation, cinéaste et monteur. Parmi ses projets sont The Essence of Terror (2013), Democracy Road (2016) et The Witness – projeté sur les chaînes TV SVT, NRK et Al Jazeera. En 2014, William rejoint, en qualité d’associé, la société de production « Laika Film and Television » à Stockholm, Suède.

Arica

Dans les années 80, une compagnie minière suédoise a exporté 20 000 tonnes de déchets toxiques dans la petite ville d’Arica au Chili. Suite à ces événements, des milliers de personnes ont développé le cancer, la mortalité dans la région