Director: Jean-Daniel Pollet

Director, screenwriter, director of photography, Jean-Daniel Pollet is a French filmmaker born in 1936. An undisputed master of French cinema, he was one of the figures of the New Wave. His career began in 1958 with a short fiction film – for which he won the Golden Lion at the Venice Film Festival – Pourvu qu’on ait l’ivresse, starring Claude Melki in the role of Léon, a shy and burlesque character that he would put in five other films. His work, original and complex, is inspired by Jean Renoir, but also by Jacques Tati and Charlie Chaplin. It contains about thirty feature films, documentaries, essays and films for television. Pollet’s cinema seems to cross two currents: one, rather realistic, burlesque, with aspects of popular comedies, with the five films about Léon, played by Claude Melki, the other – more poetic, melancholic, with films like Méditerranée (1963), a film-essay whose aesthetics inaugurate the modernity of the art of cinema. He died in 2004, following an accident on a film set.

Chez Georges et Rosy

In the rue de Varenne is the dance school of Georges and Rosy. A school where they teach tango, chachacha, waltz, but also modern dances like jerk or rock’nroll. This short film is extracted from the famous television magazine of

L’Acrobate

Léon is a shy, self-effacing and solitary bath boy. Martyred by his boss, bullied by his colleagues and despised by the girls in his neighborhood, Léon is not very lucky and is constantly failing. His dream is to become the

Director : Jean-Daniel Pollet

Réalisateur, scénariste, directeur de la photographie, Jean-Daniel Pollet est un cinéaste français né en 1936 et mort en 2004. Maître incontesté du cinéma français, il faisait partie des figures de la Nouvelle Vague. Sa carrière commence en 1958 par un court-métrage de fiction – pour lequel il obtient le Lion d’Or au festival de Venise – Pourvu qu’on ait l’ivresse, avec Claude Melki dans le rôle de Léon, un personnage timide et burlesque qu’il reprendra sur cinq autres films. Son oeuvre, originale et complexe, s’inspire à la fois de Renoir, mais aussi de Tati, ou bien Chaplin. Elle contient une trentaine de longs-métrages, documentaires, essais et films pour la télévision. Le cinéma de Pollet semble traverser deux courants : un, plutôt réaliste, burlesque, aux aspects de comédies populaires, avec les cinq films sur Léon, incarné par Claude Melki, l’autre – plus poétique, mélancolique, avec des films comme Méditerranée (1963), film-essai dont l’esthétique inaugure la modernité de l’art du cinéma.

Chez Georges et Rosy

Dans la rue de Varenne se tient l’école de danse de Georges et Rosy. Une école où ils enseignent le tango, le chachacha, la valse, mais aussi des danses modernes comme le jerk ou le rock’nroll. Ce court-métrage est extrait

L’Acrobate

Léon est un garçon de bains timide, effacé et solitaire. Martyrisé par sa patronne, malmené par ses collègues et méprisé par les filles de son quartier, Léon n’a pas tellement de chance et essuie les échecs. Son rêve est de