Director: António Lopes Ribeiro

António Lopes Ribeiro (1908-1995) is a major filmmaker of the Estado Novo. In the 1930s, he was influenced by the modernist aesthetics of German and Russian cinemas. And he is a fervent and constant supporter of Salazar. Together with António Ferro, ideologist of the regime, he considers cinema as a tool for education and propaganda. Lopes Ribeiro directed the great political fiction of the Estado Novo: A Revolução de Maio (1937), historical and popular fiction (O Pai Tirano, 1941) and dozens of documentaries. Notably the one on The Portuguese World Exhibition (1941). He produced the Camões (1946) by Leitão de Barros and Aniki Bobo (1941) by Manuel de Oliveira. In 1938-39 he directed the imposing Film Mission in the colonies of Africa, launched by the Overseas Agency, which aimed to produce a series of films on the occasion of President Carmona’s trip. He will bring back several documentaries from which he will integrate sequences in his fiction feature Feitiço do Império (Spell of the Empire), 1940 whose sound was lost. The two selected documentaries are very representative of his colonial work: a certain interest, particularly sensitive in images, associated with a theme characteristic of the colonialist attitude of the time.

Gentes que Nós Civilizámos

Interesting, almost ethnographic, sequences on peoples of southern and central Angola, show the diversity of their customs and the richness of their cultures. The images often of quality are not devoid of a dominant look that frames them as exotic. …

Guiné, Berço do Império

This documentary, produced in 1946 on the occasion of the half-century of Portuguese presence in Guinea-Bissau, reveals interesting contradictions. The activities and customs of the Guineans are filmed with a lot of attention and sometimes of proximity. Their resistance to …

Director : António Lopes Ribeiro

António Lopes Ribeiro (1908-1995) est un cinéaste majeur de l’Estado Novo. Dans les années 30, il s’enthousiasme pour les esthétiques modernistes des cinémas allemand et russe. Et il est un fervent et constant soutien de Salazar. Avec António Ferro, idéologue du régime, il considère le cinéma comme un outil d’éducation et de propagande. Lopes Ribeiro a réalisé la grande fiction politique de l’Estado Novo : A Revolução de Maio (1937), des fictions historiques et populaires (O Pai Tirano, 1941) et des dizaines de documentaires. Notamment celui sur L’Exposition du Monde Portugais (1941). Il a produit le Camões (1946) de Leitão de Barros et Aniki Bobo (1941) de Manuel de Oliveira. En 1938-39 il dirige l’imposante Mission Cinématographique dans les colonies d’Afrique, lancée par l’Agence de l’Outremer, qui a pour ambition la production d’une série de films, à l’occasion du voyage du Président Carmona. Il en rapportera plusieurs documentaires dont il intégrera des séquences dans son long métrage de fiction Feitiço do Império (Sortilège de l’Empire), 1940 dont le son a été perdu. Les deux documentaires sélectionnés sont très représentatifs de son œuvre coloniale : un intérêt certain, sensible notamment dans les images, associé à un propos caractéristique de l’attitude colonialiste de l’époque.

Gentes que Nós Civilizámos

Des séquences intéressantes, presqu’ethnographiques, sur des peuples du sud et du centre de l’Angola, montrent la diversité de leurs coutumes et la richesse de leurs cultures. Les images souvent de qualité ne sont pas dénuées d’un regard dominant qui les …

Guiné, Berço do Império

Ce documentaire, monté en 1946 à l’occasion du demi-siècle de présence portugaise en Guinée-Bissau, révèle d’intéressantes contradictions. Les activités et les coutumes des Guinéens sont filmées avec beaucoup d’attention et parfois de proximité. Leur résistance à la colonisation est même …